Madison Area Technical College

Founded in 1912, Madison Area Technical College (Madison College) is a public two-year, post-secondary institution. At that time, its mission was to train the coming generation of workers for jobs in the growing factories and businesses of the era. More than a century later, we continue this commitment to build a workforce that will allow employers who hire our graduates to compete in a global marketplace.   With close to 150 career programs and certificates, as well as a robust college transfer program, Madison College serves more than 40,000 students each year with high-quality instruction, top-notch facilities and access to nationally recognized flagship programs. We offer roughly 130 transfer opportunities from our technical programs to other four-year institutions, including the University of Wisconsin-Madison. In 2012, Madison College transfer students enrolled at 340 different colleges and universities around the country.  We also offer numerous certificate programs, which are designed to enhance a degree or resume with targeted knowledge in specific areas.  Certificates offer the opportunity to rapidly respond to changes and new technologies as they arise.

Madison College serves students in the 12 counties that define south-central Wisconsin.  Campus locations include five sites within Madison, and four regional sites in the cities of Reedsburg, Watertown, Fort Atkinson and Portage.  It is the second-largest of 16 schools in the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS), serving 40 school districts, 223 municipalities and 739,775 residents. Madison College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), which was founded in 1895 and is an independent corporation and member of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA).  The tradition of excellence at Madison College is under the leadership of President Jack E. Daniels, III, Ph.D.

Academic programming in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) at Madison College has gained national attention. The School of Applied Sciences Engineering and Technology is home to programs such as Advanced Manufacturing, Robotics, Photovoltaics and Biotechnology.  In addition, innovative programs including the NSF-funded WiscAMP, QuantWay, Computer-Assisted Modular Math (CAMM) program, Community College Sustainable Development Network (CCSDN) and the Wisconsin Technical College System STEM Bridge are faculty-led initiatives that promote student success in STEM-related areas.